03.02.05 - 1:56 p.m.

move and just be

For the last few weeks, I've sought company, comfort, and inspiration in films. Surprisingly reading a long list of memoirs did not yield the cold direct brutally honest truth i've sought (w/ the exception of r.bary's "unafraid_of_the_dark"). hotel rwanda and ray have moved me in ways that million$baby and findingneverland could not.

Anyway, I found out recently that the actress who plays ray charles's mother, aretha_robinson, gave a sobering interview at blackfilm.com and i excerpted from interview below. i'm going to read and read the interview each morning this week to inject myself with the healing therapeautic words that i've been unable to find in the therapists i've wasted money on for the past three months.

Just like you were inspired by some of these actors that you just mentioned, if someone was going to try to get into this business, what do you tell an inspiring actress? When they're trying for roles and they see other known actresses try for the same position, what advice would you give any inspiring actress to be in this business to keep trying?

SW: Love yourself completely, all completely in love with yourself, every single inch of your body, every single thing about - love yourself because you don't need to expect that to come from anything else other than you. These are greatest sorts of love for you, first of all. Second be fearless, fear is alive. It's alive and it's a pimp with a lot of whores. Be fearless, be totally fearless because you are perfectly designed and you are a gift to the world and what is in you is in your person, no other person whatsoever - and whatever exploit you exploit, whatever, I mean, when you are given a design assignment and you are given an appointment all you got to do is show up. That's all you have to do and just know that any design in your heart I believe profoundly is something that was divinely placed there. When something calls you that you are passionate about it, you're supposed to meet and don't look for a justification from anyone, don't look for an amen corner, don't look for support - but don't expect it. Be your own champion. Really, just be solid in who you are. I don't want to speak to strength because I don't feel like - I want to feel like I'm strong. I just feel like I persevere. I just feel like meet whatever you need to meet and just whatever walls come into your life just knock them down. First of all, they're not even real, you know, a lot of the ways in which I see people being tender in this industry is that they are conditioned in their thinking. They're prescribed, don't be so susceptible to be prescribed in your thinking about who you are, what your value is and what you're capable of, have a knowing and that would be my advice for any aspiring actress.

What do you want people to get out of this film once we see a part of his life?

SW: There is nothing that can hold you back. I believe that this film is going to meet so many people on so many social economical levels. It's meets you where you are and it tells you I don't care what your situation is, I don't care what your circumstance is, I don't care what somebody else has and you don't, you know what, get up, do it. Just motivate. Move it up and be. Life has a purpose and I think a lot of people don't value themselves, they really don't. I think a lot of people sleep on what they got and I think that this film is going to wake a lot of people up. It's going to make them look at themselves in a different way and to become hungry - first of all to perceive that they are not a mistake. They are perfectly designed and that their life has a purpose and to be hungry about discovering what that purpose is and fulfilling it; that is what life is, and I think that this film is just going to turn a lot of people's lives on.

MUSIC: baby, it's alright

READING: gourevitch's "we_wish_to_inform_you...:stories from rwanda"

FEELING:__________

backpeddle
press on
bouyancy
encircle
the hub
d'land

blogging on up - 10.09.05
think not, hurt not. - 05.21.05
send it off, hug a book, stream a showtune - 05.03.05
"leave me alone" - 04.20.05
religiosity - 04.08.05

archived 2005
archived 2004
archived 2003
archived 2002