01.28.05 - 10:16 p.m.

emptied my office, a step

i emptied out my corner of an graduate student office, which i share with 8 other grad students. i've held the corner desk - in my opinion, the best view in the place - since fall 2000. although i'm no where near completing my dissertation, and don't have any firm plans for the fall, to pack things up, throw things out, unstaple my curious george posters from the wall (an early icon of literacy for me, when reading was not my job but my precocious trick that made me feel incredibly special and important but also joyfully silly).

it felt good to hand over the key to the office... of course this paper hoarder can't convert into a minimalist overnight... so i carted a box of remaining stuff over to my library carrel... and throwing old student papers, old emails, old postcards away for just an hour did the therapeutic trick. i think the momentum towards leaving this place -- as if a high of 17oF with a windchill icing that felt like 1oF were not enough! -- will be implementing constant activities oriented towards packing up and moving on. and since i never learned how to do constructive soothing activities with my hands like knitting, well, sorting through mounds of aged paper and saying good bye to all that, symbolizes a start in the right direction - o.u.t.

MUSIC: thepianist

READING: AHeartbreakingWorkOf...

FEELING:

backpeddle
press on
bouyancy
encircle
the hub
d'land

blogging on up - 10.09.05
think not, hurt not. - 05.21.05
send it off, hug a book, stream a showtune - 05.03.05
"leave me alone" - 04.20.05
religiosity - 04.08.05

archived 2005
archived 2004
archived 2003
archived 2002