05.26.04 - 4:56 a.m.

"pre" becomes "present" professionalism

updating my c.v. at 5 AM (yes 05:00 hours) in the morning, and i'm not even using that c.v. to apply for a foreseeable job in the present??

after monday's placement meeting, the first gathering of my department's call to ph.d's who might remotely be interested in applying for professrshp jobs, i started getting busy.

busy's a good work. there is a TON of busy work involved in getting with this program - literally a 12 month process that begins on sept. 1 the deadline by which i absolutely MUST submit TWO chapters of my dissertation, or my committee members will not write me recommendations, and june 1 (as many colleges continue to hold campus visit clear through until may) -

some examples of my "mania"

1. subscribed to the chronicle of higher education.

2. subscribed to interfolio (national/cv. gatekeeper).

3. subscribed to my.blackboard. com to teach myself how to set up my own class website for THE FALL semester

4. perused through TONS of academic - grad student, professors, public intellectual, independent scholars to find out - how ppl of my ilk keep up jounals and fo r using them to my gain - but in a much quieter way than having other closer friends of mine who knowingly - how could we/you ever feel safe kowing how could we ever feel safe enough after watching fluff thathe purportedly watched with the general for sometime .

more to come - yes - this puts me to slepep right quick.

MUSIC:

READING:

FEELING:

backpeddle
press on
bouyancy
encircle
the hub
d'land

blogging on up - 10.09.05
think not, hurt not. - 05.21.05
send it off, hug a book, stream a showtune - 05.03.05
"leave me alone" - 04.20.05
religiosity - 04.08.05

archived 2005
archived 2004
archived 2003
archived 2002